This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Children's cell phones

Is our child's cell phone considered a Sec. 7 expense ? I have been paying for our 13 yo cell phone for 2010 with no sharing of the payments from his dad.
    Any thoughts on if I should be able to urge him to help cover half (we're no talking a lot...$40/month in total...$20 each approx.).
    Thanks !

Anything under $100 per month should certainly come out of CS paid, it isn't an extra payment of section 7.

I use that figure because it is the amount stated for medical expenses (outside those covered by insurance.) It would be hard to construct an argument that $90 for a co-pay on a prescription, or dental xrays, or whatever, isn't a section 7, but $40 for a cell phone is.

Comment

Thanks Mess...currently we each buy our children whatever they need when we are with them (typically dad pays for most of the hockey stuff/fundraising, and I buy the boys clothing (I give him half), medical, dental, school expenses) and then we compare bills at the end of each month, and reconcile so we each have paid the same per month.

We do not do CS as we share our children 50/50.

He hasn't been willing to pay for cell and I wanted some thoughts as to if I should 'urge' (reluctant to say push) him to include this in the monthly reconciliation.

Comment

Did he agree that your child should have a cell phone? If so, he should share, if not, you should be on your own with the expense.