When can you be considered separated?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When can you be considered separated?

Is it not until you're living separately? I consider myself separated already. I have been sleeping on the couch for a couple months already.

You are separated when there is no chance of reconciliation. You can still be living together and be separated. Of course, it is easier to show separation if you are not living together.

If you are still living together, judges look at the following:

1) Is the couple still having sexual relations with each other?

2) Do they carry out tasks for each other?
    eg.
    2a) Do they eat together?
    2b) Do they do laundry together?
    2c) Do they shop together?

3) Do they describe themselves as separated outside the house? On social media?

4) Do they socialize together?

Comment

Then yes, I consider myself separated. Do I inform CRA about it? I just cannot take much more. I am scared of this man's state of mental health and I want him out of the house but I don't think he'll go.

Comment

Originally posted by Frostrated View Post
        I want him out of the house but I don't think he'll go.
        It's his home just as much as it is yours. You don't own the home.

Comment

Originally posted by Frostrated View Post
          Then yes, I consider myself separated. Do I inform CRA about it? I just cannot take much more. I am scared of this man's state of mental health and I want him out of the house but I don't think he'll go.
          can he afford to move? Can you pay for the mortgage etc by yourself?

If you are that scared then you could go to the womans shelter that you mentioned.

Comment

Yes change your status with CRA immediately (can be done online):

https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-age...ue-agency.html