X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ownership Sharing

I don’t know if this subject is appropriate here but I will give it a try

I bought my house in 1998 for $140,000 and by the end of 2003 it was paid in full. Current municipal evaluation is $350,000 and I have put into the house on renovations approx. $100,000 (on materials only because as a retired contractor I did all the labor myself)

My wife, whom I married in August 2002, and I are both in our late 60’s and she has hinted that she would like to be a partner in the ownership of the house.

I want to be fair but how do I go about it? Like how much she has to pay me to make her an equal partner or what the alternatives are?

A good or bad idea?

Thank you

Perhaps I'm misreading here but if that is your matrimonial home then she's already an equal partner. You don't need to do anything.

Comment

If you're married, she is already entitled to half of the current value. There would not be a need to "sell" anything to her.

As far as I know, you can put her on title as your spouse without worry of land transfer tax etc. But even if you don't put her on title, you would still need her consent to sell the house as it is the matrimonial home.

Comment

Originally posted by HammerDad View Post
        If you're married, she is already entitled to half of the current value. There would not be a need to "sell" anything to her.

As far as I know, you can put her on title as your spouse without worry of land transfer tax etc. But even if you don't put her on title, you would still need her consent to sell the house as it is the matrimonial home.
        BUT she feels she wants to buy into the value of the house, by paying you.

So I would do that - that way if you split, you will walk away with your investment into your house.