Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motion after Settlement Conference

Hi all,

I have a settlement conference coming up to discuss child access/custody where I want to go to 50/50 from alternating weekends.

I was thinking of booking a long-motion date now so that if we cannot settle our dispute at the Settlement conference, we can proceed quickly to Motion.

There is a 2-month time period to book long-motions so I was thinking to tell opposing counsel to pick a date and book now. If we do settle, we can always cancel.

What are your thoughts?

I am not very experienced in your touch so only offering my thoughts based on my own experience in the battle, and research, lawyer convos etc.

In my view, EOW to 50/50 is a big change. If it’s not consented by the other side, it’s not likely that a judge would order that type of change. That’s why most 50/50’s graduate to 50/50 if it wasn’t previously exercised. You have to work towards it. Just my opinion but I could be wrong.

Comment

You dont schedule a long motion, you move to trial and schedule a trial management conference.

Comment

Can you elaborate?

I called the court (Superior court) and they gave me dates for April for long motions.

Why are you recommending booking a trial management?

Mind you, my criminal trial is end of year in December 2020.

Comment

Originally posted by LovingDad1234 View Post
          it’s not likely that a judge would order that type of change.
          Sorry, meant to say it’s not likely a judge would order 50/50 through a long motion in the middle of a case. The way court proceedings work is that you have Case Conference, then Settlement Conference (sometimes many of these), then Trial Schedule Conference, Trial Management conference, then Trial. Throughout the process, you can ask for a motion for an interim decision (interim Order) to have something be put in place until you have either settled, or gotten an order through trial.