This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does she have the right....

Hi, Just signed up. I've been reading through all the posts to see if any are close to my situation.
    First the background.
    We have been living together for more or less a year. Things aren't working out.
    she has 2 boys 15 and 17 from her previous marriage. They also live with us full time. (their father isn't in the picture). I have 2 boys 13 and 15 from a previous marriage, I get them on weekends.
    The home is in mine and my fathers name. I had the home before I met her.
    I had the home rented, until we were going to move in together.
    Before we moved in her brother offered to her to upgrade a few things in the house. (he is a renovater by trade). Well, they started working on it, and as they went, they were deciding to do more and more renovations. (I would come home from work, and a new thing was being torn apart). At that time I asked how much this was all going to cost, and he responded, "don't worry about it, when he needed some help with a computer he would ask me".
    During the time we lived together, she would pay me 600. a month to help with household bills. we had agreed on 600 plus half of the utilities, but she never did give half for utilities. But she did buy groceries. But, I also did too, although not as much as her, since I rarely ate dinner at home anyway.
    I gave her the use of my van, and I paid all insurance and maintenance on the van. She only paid for gas she used.
    Now, that we are separating, she has told me her brother has invoices for 22,000 dollars for the work he did. And she wants it all back. Or I should sell the house.
    Or let her live in it rent free, until the debt is repaid.
    I went to the bank, and I would only be able to get a loan of about 4,000, and I told her that.
    Can they really hold me to the debt of 22,000?
    Thanks, I'm sorry it's a little long, any comments would be appreciated.