This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Helping a friend

Hi there Jo here, I'm helping a friend get a divorce, she has only been married for about a year and 3-4 months and separated for a few months now. Her and her soon to be ex are very young she is still attending college and he was in the army until he left.

She has no money for a lawyer and he wants to squeeze every penny and everything he ever gave her during the marriage saying it's all his, which I know is all BS. He tried intimidating her into giving him everything including about $12,000.00. So I stepped in to try and work out a agreement but he's now stone walling me.

My main question is does anyone know does it cost anything to just pick up the divorce papers before filling them and how much it does cost in Ottawa to file a divorce.

I am not a lawyer obviously nor am I a part of any legal firm, I just know the law in this situation but since she has no money right now, I need to know the basics of costs.

Thank you for your help.

The forms to commence the divorce process are free and you can get them at your local court house along with a wealth of help and information on the process. They will tell you jow to start, what forms to use, and what the steps are.

I started the divoprce process myself, but when my ex got ugly I had no choice but to involve a lawyer. As a student she may qualify for legal aid, she should look into that.

She is entitled to half of the assets owned and is responsible for half the debt. Since this is a relatively sdhort marriage, she may have a difficult time claims any SS. If she is like me I did not ask for Spousal support, but I did have kids.
    I am speculating that there are no children as she sounds too younge.

Here is a link to all the forms for family law,

http://www.ontariocourtforms.on.ca/english/family/

And here is a link to some steps on divorce in Cananda,(ontario).

http://www.candivorce.ca/steps.htm