X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should I do? spousal support?

Should I apply for spousal support?

My boyfriend and I have been together for 4 years and living together for 2 1/2 (in apartments we rent). seven months ago we moved to BC. We decided on this city because he has friends here and there is a University I can finish my degree at. I am a full time student and worked part time until we moved here. He works in the oilfield and is only home once a month. With me in school and working we weren't getting to spend much time together, so we decided that considering he makes $7000 a month, the little money I made as a part time waitress wasn't worth it. Now we broke up. He called from work and broke up with me yesterday. Its not working blah blah blah.

Typically I would not even consider asking for support. I am an independent girl and can stand on my own two feet but here is the situation:
    -I have zero income right now as I am not working.
    -It is the most crucial part of my semester, there is 3 weeks left and then finals- in other words I cant go get a full time job just yet.
    -I don't know a single person here, let alone someone I could stay with until the semester is over. And since I'm from Saskatchewan, my nearest family is 1,200 kms away.

But doesn't spousal support take a long time to process? I don't want to ask for money, I feel ashamed but I have nowhere to go.

Any advice I could get would be great. Please help.

It will take months before you even see the inside of a courtroom...

If you need immediate financial help, than spousal support is only an option is he is willing to pay you voluntarily.

Comment

Originally posted by lost84 View Post
      ... living together for 2 1/2 [years]...
      But doesn't spousal support take a long time to process? I don't want to ask for money, I feel ashamed but I have nowhere to go.

Any advice I could get would be great. Please help.