Child support

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Child support

I've been requesting my ex's NOA for 2017 and 2018 and having no luck in getting them. We do have an order indicating that he is to disclose them on June 1 every year.

I am registered with FRO, can they help me obtain this information and enforce accordingly? Or do I need to bring a motion to court?

Im trying to avoid retaining a lawyer.

FRO can’t help you. All they do is enforce the order. U need to file with the courts to request disclosure. I wouldn’t use a lawyer to do this. It’s pretty easy.

Comment

File a form 20 if youre in Ontario. You motion for disclosure.

Comment

Originally posted by rockscan View Post
        You motion for disclosure.
        She already has an order for yearly disclosure. That's literally the second sentence of her post.

She has to motion for contempt.

Comment

Originally posted by calvinfive View Post
          She already has an order for yearly disclosure. That's literally the second sentence of her post.

She has to motion for contempt.
          Contempt is generally reserved for egregious matters. Failing to disclose wouldn't fall into that category....yet. First step is a written request for the NoA. Second step is a letter from the lawyer requesting the NoA. Then the Form 20, request for disclosure motion. Then contempt after further disclosure is ordered.

Getting to contempt is a process. You have to show you've made reasonable attempts to obtain, and those attempts have been ignored.

Comment

Contempt is definitely inappropriate in this case. From Hefkey v. Hefkey, 2013 ONCA 44 -