Unique house situation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unique house situation

Hi, i am new to this and have a very unique question about a home. If anyone knows about "marital homes". Please contact me via pm. And i put it in quotes bc it is a very different situation not come across any sites such as canill.

You may need to explain a bit further. Marital homes could mean something different. Most divorces involve matrimonial homes.

Comment

Ok, i bought my house over 10 years ago with my family, parents siblings etc. I am the only one on title but we all lived together and still do til this day. I was stupid enought to get married and he moved in for 1.5 years. Never paid anything. My family and i paid everything. Daily living costs mortgage up keep etc. He now wants half. He lived and ate our food without paying anything, claiming he was saving to buy a house for him and me. So i come up broke with him having tons of hidden money too now. How can they try to claim it as a martial home when we lived not only with my family but they paid and bought it before he was ever around?

Comment

I believe he would only be entitled to a portion of the increase in value during the time he lived there.

You should talk to a lawyer though. As far as I know, if you owned the home and continued to own the home and he lived there for a period it is only that period that the increase in value is concerned. All the rest—what he paid or didn’t who lived there etc is irrelevant.

He can go after whatever he wants, doesn’t mean he will get it.

Comment

Originally posted by rockscan View Post
          I believe he would only be entitled to a portion of the increase in value during the time he lived there.