Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Divorce & Family Law

Divorce & Family Law This forum is for discussing any of the legal issues involved in your divorce.

Old 08-26-2019, 09:25 PM

Lostforwords is on a distinguished road
Default Unique house situation

Hi, i am new to this and have a very unique question about a home. If anyone knows about "marital homes". Please contact me via pm. And i put it in quotes bc it is a very different situation not come across any sites such as canill.
Old 08-26-2019, 09:28 PM

rockscan will become famous soon enoughrockscan will become famous soon enough

You may need to explain a bit further. Marital homes could mean something different. Most divorces involve matrimonial homes.
Old 08-26-2019, 10:03 PM

Ok, i bought my house over 10 years ago with my family, parents siblings etc. I am the only one on title but we all lived together and still do til this day. I was stupid enought to get married and he moved in for 1.5 years. Never paid anything. My family and i paid everything. Daily living costs mortgage up keep etc. He now wants half. He lived and ate our food without paying anything, claiming he was saving to buy a house for him and me. So i come up broke with him having tons of hidden money too now. How can they try to claim it as a martial home when we lived not only with my family but they paid and bought it before he was ever around?
Old 08-26-2019, 10:20 PM

I believe he would only be entitled to a portion of the increase in value during the time he lived there.

You should talk to a lawyer though. As far as I know, if you owned the home and continued to own the home and he lived there for a period it is only that period that the increase in value is concerned. All the restwhat he paid or didnt who lived there etc is irrelevant.

He can go after whatever he wants, doesnt mean he will get it.
Old 08-26-2019, 10:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockscan View Post