Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question

I want to make an offer to my ex who I've been paying SS for the last 5 years in ending the SS all together. I have at least 2 more to 3 years to pay at this point. Regarding my offer, if she accepts it and signs off, can she somehow try to come back for SS in the future? I'm obviously going to have this done thru my lawyer.

are you thinking of offering her a lump sum payment?

Comment

You could put something in the offer saying that by accepting the offer ex agrees that she relinquishes all future claims on your earnings (other people probably have suggestions for how to word this better). However, as I understand it there's always the possibility that ex could claim she was misinformed or uninformed about something crucial before she agreed to the offer, or that her circumstances have changed in a way which could not have been foreseen at the time the offer was made, and can try to re-open it. So I think you can write something up which is 99% safe against being re-opened, but nothing is 100%.

Also bear in mind that SS is tax-deductible for you, while a lump-sum payment is not.

Comment

Yes it's a lump payment. This is what worries me that 1% chance. Let's say I wait until a judge finally says no more support and I'm finally off the hook. Three years later circumstances change and all of a sudden she decides to come back and try and reopen the case? Where does it end. No male or in some cases a female who are the higher income earners should be held liable when a decision is made to end SS legally. All I'm trying to do is just move on with my life. She works and makes a good living wage at half my income. Where would she be without me as she is now? She would be doing quite fine. I don't pay a huge amount although it would be nice one day having my full pay check back.

Comment

And you could pay for 3 more years and then stop and then she'd come back for more anyhow...