This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• International Divorce - Ontario and England

Hi, I am new to this and hope that I am posting in the proper area. I am a Canadian, living in Canada who married a UK resident in July. He decided to up and leave last month with no warning, and go back to the UK (England) as he was having attachment issues leaving his family. I noticed this week that he is advertising on dating sites as being single and looking for long term relationships. Would this be considered adultery? Also, my father is from England and said he will help me get my Right of Abode if necessary, so that maybe I can enlist with a lawyer in England to deal with this matter (divorce), or I can deal with it through Canada if it is easier. Has anyone dealt with this before, mainly international divorce, and not had to wait the 1 year period in Ontario, or the 2 Year period in the UK. I am devastated and just want to get it over and done with if he is not going to make an effort to return, and I cannot move there because of my children and 2 jobs that I have alot to lose.

Thankyou

Caitlynn

With such a short marriage, is it possible to get an annulement? Were you co-habitating before getting married? Are any of the children his?

Comment

The marriage has been for 5 months so far. I am not sure of the rules of annullment here in Ontario. There are no children involved thankfully.

Comment

We were only living together for a week before getting married, involved for about 3 months prior to getting married.

Comment

Here is a site on annulment in Ontario.

Marriage Annulment in the Province of Ontario

Very few marriages have ever been annulled by the courts in Canada and the rules for such are very specific and limited.

Comment