Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

will mortgage paymend considering s&c support?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• will mortgage paymend considering s&c support?

I have been paying mortgage since 2006 to the house my ex and children living in. recently I want to stop paying the mortgage. but her lawyer threaten me that I never paid s&c support. and request me continue to pay the mortgage. I already stopped with my lawyer and decide to do it myself. The mortgage is double the amount of s&c support based on my income. I and ex are still fighting in court for custody and financial support. But I think she will win eventually because one of my mistake. if she won, would all these years house payment considered by the judge as my support? except that I also bought clothes and computers to the children but I had no hard proof on those. Will the bank or credit card statements be witness in court?

thank you in advance.

What was your mistake?

Comment

Not entirely sure how it work out but I suspect that she may be able to make a claim for back support. Given that you've paid the mortgage your equity in the home would have gone up, pair that with a claim for SS & CS and I would imagine it could be applied against your equity in the home.

Example:

If she makes a claim for $50K in unpaid child & spousal support and you have paid $65K into the mortgage since seperation, you would have a claim for $15K for equalization of the property.

No idea if this is correct or not, just supposition.

Comment

One could easily argue that HALF the mortgage payment amount is his to pay in any case, but that the other half is 100% support to his spouse and children.

That's what I did in my case anyways.

Mortgage was $1300, I was to pay my ex $1700 in support.
        I paid her half of the mortgage plus my half, and gave her $1050.