This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Division of Family Assets

We got married in 1983, throughout the marriage we had problems. As a result we mutually separated in 1996, and declared ourselves separated on Income Tax Returns. and my spouse left the home. However, he has been in and out of the house until this year 2012. In 1996 we did not split our assets. Now in 2012 we wish to do so as there has been tension all the time. My spouse works for Government of Canada and has been working there since 1982. I have been working with Government of Ontario, since 1992. Our other asset is Matrimonial Home that we purchased in 1985. When we purchased it my spouse put his parents name also on the title as a 50% interest. They never lived in the house though. Now both his parents passed away, but before their passing, I was told that they left a will to transfer their 50% interest to their son. I never saw the will. I have been living in the matrimonial home since we purchased it in 1985 and since 1996 I have been paying for all the bills and repairs. I am confused and his lawyer is confusing me much more.

What is your question?

Comment