This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• spousal/child support question

We are in the middle of writing up the SA. I have a question about support.

I make 87,500 and my wife makes 110,000. What is the child support payment on that amount if we will have joint custody and 50/50 access? In reality it will be closer to 60/40 because she is away on business frequently. She will be moving up the ladder quite quickly and in the next year or two her income will be closer to 125 000.

Is the child support payment different then the contributions we both make for daycare? My understanding is she will have to contribute a little more then me because of her making more. Correct?

Should I push for some sort of compensation (spousal) because of the increase in her income and the fact that I will be with the kids up to 60% of the time or is that a losing battle and I should move on??

I am a teacher and have a secure job with a great pension - unfortunately she will be taking half of it! lol
    She also does not have a lot of investments in her name so the pension trasfer will be pretty close to half over a 10 year period.

Thanks,

Look at the table amount for each of your incomes. She will owe you the difference b/w what each of you would pay.

It won't be a lot, so consider bargaining away what she owes you for CS against her entitlement to your pension.

Comment

You are working it out amicably between the two of you? Congratulations, you are saving about $20k each, at minimum. Count that $20k towards your settlement amount, she could easily afford to give you a hard time if you start going after every nickel and dime.

You aren't absolutely obligated to go "by the book", and if you round things off to settle quickly then like I say, you are saving tens of thousands.