Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Financial Issues

Financial Issues This forum is for discussing any of the financial issues involved in your divorce.

Closed Thread

Old 01-15-2009, 03:04 AM

profoundly sad is on a distinguished road
Default starting the process...asset splitting

My apologies if this thread is showing up in the wrong spot. I'm new to this and have been trying to figure out how to start a 'new' post.....

My situation is: married 35 years, no kids. We own our home and have some savings, as well as self directed rrsp's (me) and a pension plan (him).
We started our lives together with nothing. Both of us have worked throughout our marriage and everything we have accumulated has been accumulated together.

After many struggles (another post for another time), we have finally admitted defeat and thrown in the towel.

Neither one of us wants to be vindictive. We just want to divide things fairly, quickly and as painlessly as possible.

I have been researching the last few days and find myself getting very confused. Some information I am seeing tells me that splitting up is going to cost us way more than we can afford. Other information tells me we can get a divorce for the cost of online forms (approx $300.00) plus court fees of approx $450.00. What is a realistic number?

We only just recently separated, so we have a year to go before we can actually file for divorce. At this point, I think the most important thing is the separation agreement.

I have downloaded a 'fill in the blanks' separation agreement.

Once we fill this out, do we have to have it notorized, or do we have to see a lawyer? What should we expect this to cost?

Should we download the divorce forms now or wait until closer to the one year date?

If we have both contributed the maximum to CPP for many years now, do we need to take that into account in the separation agreement?