This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this a conflict of interest?

I have my opinions and I am by no means a lawyer. I will cut this down to the basest of facts and I want to know what you think.

Proceeding is a default dispute. Reached resolution. Justice orders to meet at future date to adress costs. Tells our lawyer does not need to be in attendance. So isnt.
    The future date comes. The other parties lawyer is there and we find out, another lawyer is there in place of our own. this new one was NOT hired by us or our lawyer to be there. As it turns out we were told both of these lawyers are from the same firm.
    How screwed up is that?

I just ran into this last week when I was at court. I think it is pretty common for lawyerswho could be perceived as having a conflict, to act or represent a party on short notice to "cover" for another lawyer if they are in a trial, or in court on another matter. If the matter has material filed and that is the only material the judge is basing their decision on for the most part, it could work.

But, having said that, most lawyers would inform their client in advance if this was going to happen. Did you attend this proceeding or not?

Comment

A couple of things here,

while it is true that another lawyer may have to step in, in our case told by the Justice that our lawyer did not need to be there. Why then did one step in? We dodnt know as of yet.

Now again the lawyer representing the other party and the one that steped in are from the same law firm. I know that two parties in a divorce cannot have the same firm represent them. Because of conflict of interest issues this is the rule and I think it applies to any legal case.