Military Pensions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military Pensions

Currently wading through the tail end of a messy divorce. Military member with 26 years served, still serving.

Divorce agreement is being written up and ex-spouse's lawyer insists that my military pension shall be split 50% since inception even though we did not marry or live together until 4 years after I joined. Why should she benefit from the 4 years we were not together ?

My lawyer is telling me that it is considered the same as a house...if I owned a house for 4 years before I married and then we were together for 20 years and divorced, the house is now 50% hers.

Any advice in here from those already through the mill?

~Harry

I have no firsthand experience on this, but it seems seems weird that your lawyer is agreeing with her lawyer on this. I would ask your lawyer why a pension under the CFSA is treated any different than a pension under CPP?

The Canada Pension Plan (CPP) contributions you and your spouse or common-law partner made during the time you lived together can be equally divided after a divorce or separation. This is called credit splitting.

sourced from https://www.canada.ca/en/services/be...t-credits.html
    Or for another bit of related reading...Though it doesn't copy and paste without errors, so may be better to read at its source, provided at the end. Bolded italic lines below are from me.

Division
    • 8 (1) A division of pension benefits shall be effected by
      • (a) subject to subsection (4), transferring an amount representing fifty per cent of the value of the pension benefits that have accrued to the member of the pension plan during the period subject to division, as determined in accordance with the regulations, to the spouse, former spouse or former common-law partner, if that pension plan is a retirement compensation arrangement, or, in any other case, to