This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Child with high section 7 expenses and spousal support

Hello all: I apologize as I am new to this discussion board... I did some searching on the matter and didn't come up with anything that specifically applied to my situation.

Here is the story:
    My ex and I are separated now for 5 months. We have 1 autistic son who is 9 years old.

I work at reasonable job and earn around $65K per year.

My ex has never worked but has an extremely wealthy father. She has used a credit card supplied by her daddy for $5000 per month in expenses that were paid for without question over the course of our 11 year marriage. She had a taste for high end shopping and fine dining. Within 2 months of our separation she was moved in to a high end $300K townhouse purchased for her by her father. She also has a large sum of undisclosed money in trust from her late mother's estate. I am still living in the matrimonial home and will be selling it shortly.

She has also struggled with mental illnesses throughout our marriage and was a key factor that contributed to its eventual failure.

Currently our son lives with her Mon-Fri whereas I get to have him on the weekends.

Our son attends a private school for autistic children that costs $10,000 per year in tuition fees and an additional $3000 worth of fund raising obligations.

I am paying the guideline amounts for child support and I am OK with sponsoring 90% of the section 7 expenses but she is suing me for $1400/mo spousal support in addition to all that. If I was to agree to her demands then I will have at best $1000 per month left for myself to live off.