Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Financial Issues

Financial Issues This forum is for discussing any of the financial issues involved in your divorce.

Closed Thread

Old 02-13-2011, 01:32 PM

Whendoesitend is on a distinguished road
Default Tuition Tax Credit

Hello all,

Just joined this very interesting and helpful forum.

I have been paying CS & SS for a couple of years now in addition to my portion of Sec 7 expenses.
Last year my son transferred over his tuition tax and education credit to my ex. This year (for 2010) I would like him to do the same for me. She can use take next year's credit. He agrees with the concept but is very uncomfortable in signing over given that my ex is freaking out and is refusing to give up this credit???

I understand that Sec 7 is payable net of tax credits, etc., but how do you enforce this?

It's too bad CRA will only allow one family member to benefit.
Has anybody dealt with a similar situation?
Old 02-13-2011, 02:55 PM

dadtotheend will become famous soon enoughdadtotheend will become famous soon enough

I deal with this all the time.

It is the student that has to authorize the transfer of the credit. Your ex was given the credit by your son. She didn't own it so she hasn't given up anything.

Alternating the credit back and forth b/w you each year is reasonable. So is figuring out the value of the credit on one parent's return and paying the other parent half the value.

The other part of this is that the section 6 split s/b calculated after accounting for the benefit of the tax credits. Did you do that when arriving at section 7 amounts?

Last edited by dadtotheend; 02-13-2011 at 03:02 PM.
Old 02-13-2011, 03:33 PM

Whendoesitend is on a distinguished road

Thanks for reply.
We did not calculate section 7 expenses after credit. I pay the school my portion of the fees (before credit) and she does the same to the school directly.