Adjusting Child Support - Help in determining income

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adjusting Child Support - Help in determining income

This is my first year where I have to adjust child support based on a final court order that was issued in 2013. Both my ex and I have exchanged the appropriate information and we are to adjust CS based on this information.

I have a bit of an issue however and would like some thoughts on the matter.

In 2013, I received a substantial amount of retroactive pay for 2010, 2011, and 2012. While I would normally include this increase if child support was payable in those years, but my agreement fixed child support amounts until March 2013, therefore I feel that this retro-active pay for previous years income should not be used in calculating child support.

I am proposing that my annual income for 2013 be used in determining child support (excluding pay from 2010, 2011, and 2012). As a side note, my ex and I share access 50/50, so I pay off-set child support.

Of course my ex is arguing that I should pay based on past years, but I don't imagine that this would be the likely outcome.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

I believe that you report income on the year that you receive it. If you received a "bonus" of retro pay in 2013 then you would report it, and be taxed on it, on your 2013 tax returns. I know little about child support but it wouldn't make sense to pay tax on income for previous years if you only received it recently. You can probably google this on the CRA website.

edit - but then the government does alot of things which don't make sense.

I'm sure someone with personal experience with this will respond to your post. I have no experience with child support issues and probably shouldn't even be commenting here.

Your ex spouse might be worried about her tax position but I believe there is a special tax provision for receipt of lump sum child support payments that she might investigate.