Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Have you had a bad experience with couple's therapy?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have you had a bad experience with couple's therapy?

Hi everyone,

I am a freelance journalist and I'm writing an article for More magazine on couple's counselling.

The article explores the notion that couple's therapy isn't always a cure-all or "fix" and looks at when it's likely to work, and when it's likely to fail. It also looks at the fact that couple's counsellors aren't regulated and some are less competent than others. As couple's therapy can be very costly, the article will hopefully save women time and money by showing readers how to tell if they are getting what they need out of couple's counselling.

I am looking for a Canadian woman over 40 who has had a negative experience with couple's counselling. (The magazine is for women over 40, so it is key that the source 40+). If you or anyone you know fits this description, can you please message me and we will arrange a time to talk over the phone? I will use a pseudonym in the article so as to protect the source's privacy.

THANK YOU!

Wendy

bad experience with couple's therapist

I am over 40, educated, professional woman. My hyusband and I, we had a few sessions with a couple's therapist in Ottawa. Overall, it was a bad experience.

After private sessions with each of us and a few session toegheter, the only assesment we got, it was that according her knowdlege, couples have issues reted to: sex, money and family.
    I could read the books myself, without paying that lady big money.She didn't have the ability to devlop an interhumane relationship and to speak with us outside her books.

We stopped seeing this lady, as both of us decided that she was not a good therapist. Three years later, we were still toegheter, still working on our relationship.