This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Child Support Payment

Hi, I'm in a situation where I have a child with a girl friend I dated 7 years ago. I've been paying child support to her since 2003. I'm currently happily married to another woman and we are about to have a baby together. I want to know what happens once we have the baby. Do I keep paying the same child support amount to my x or will the payments change after having the baby with my wife? Any info is appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike

Unfortunatly, the payment remains the same. The only way you can pay differently then the table amounts is if the custody arrangement changes. If you had shared custody, you'd pay a lot less.

Or, you could negotiate with her. If she agrees to it, you could pay less, but there is no legal reason for her to agree to less then the table amount.

Comment

Thanks for the response. I was afraid to hear that but I guess I'll have to talk to her and her child services lady to see if they will agree to a less amount.

Comment

Child Support

You should not have another child if you will be taking away from the one you already have.

Having a second child is a choice.

Comment

Originally posted by pursuingfairness View Post
          You should not have another child if you will be taking away from the one you already have.

Having a second child is a choice.
          While that may be true, that's a very harsh thing to say to someone looking forward to having another child. This father has been paying CS all along!

Comment

Child Support Reduction for 1st to pay for 2nd

People who have children should not make decisions with the expectation or desire to ask for the mother of the first child to make sacrifices for the sake of another child coming along in a new relationship.

Its time for parents to be parents, adults - men to be fathers and women to be mothers.

I know from my own experience that it hurts children when support is reduced or not paid.