This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New 2011 CS rates and extraordinary expenses

Hi, I'm new at this, so I apologize in advance for the lack of knowledge, but then again that's why I'm here right, .

This is actually a two part question.

I was made aware that new rates are now in effect for Child support (Dec 31, 2011). How do I go abouts in getting my ex to increase her payments (haven't mentionned it to her yet, since I wanted more information beforehand and I doubt that she will go for it simply by asking her), do we need a new court order, if so do I need a lawyer again to do this (paying them for an increase of $15-25/mth doesn't make much sense). On that same note, my ex gets pay raises every now and again, does anybody get the Child Support amount changed yearly or do you stick to the same amount regardless of the increases (either pay raises or table amount modifications).

Extraordinary expenses: It seems to be fairly vague and up to the judge to decide from what I get from some of these threads and the web. What if wanted to sign up my daughter in singing lessons for 30$/month, I imagine that isn't an extraordinary expenses is it (I figure that the amount is covered under child support payments, or is it supposed to be split between the parents? If it's covered under child care what if more activities are done (ie. swimming, horseback riding, etc) and the amount increases to like $100-$200/mth, even if the activities alone aren't that much together they add up, would that be considered extraordinary.

To conclude, I know it may look greedy and all, but I'm just trying to truly get an understanding of this whole thing (I never really prepared for this, I guess no one really does). So I just want to know where I stand to minimize the fights and so on (there's been too many of those during the process). Just want to move on.

Thanks.