X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Divorce due to pre-existing Disease

Hello There

I am an Indian citizen and Canadian Permanent resident. I got married to my husband in 2008 in USA. Even though it was an arranged marriage, circumstances led it happened in USA. At that time, my husband was on H1b visa and I was a Master student (F1). After 7 months of marriage, my husband had grand mal seizure. I came to know that he has epilepsy which is mostly under control with the medication. He had 6-7 seizures in his life though he had this problem from six months of age and had been on medication for most of his young and adult life. Though he had some accidents almost one year before our marriage and our marriage might be an attempt of keeping someone with him all the time.

In the meantime my husband has to move to Canada. I joined him here in 2010 and I got pregnant in the same year. To save his time, my husband relied mostly on my and his parents, who visited us from India, during my pregnancy. So many things happened during my second and third trimester – including him having another seizure in the presence of my mother, his super superstitious mother, bad OBGYN, overdue pregnancy, induction, intense labor of 2 days and ultimately c-section (which bled for one month too). I went into postpartum depression. So during maternal leave, I had some counselling sessions from a private psychotherapist. Finally I recovered.