Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Divorce & Family Law

Divorce & Family Law This forum is for discussing any of the legal issues involved in your divorce.

Old 02-05-2018, 05:41 PM

peterthefarmer is on a distinguished road
Default Need a lawyer to deal with a narcissist

I need a lawyer in the Ottawa area(preferably towards the east end) to help me with my divorce.

I have been separated 3.5 years. separation agreement signed 1.5 years ago, and the division of property a few weeks later.

Three weeks ago I filed for divorce. Last week My ex filed a motion to gain sole custody of our two children(currently 50/50). she is after full child support, as well as full spousal support. As well as retroactive support going back two years.

I am a mechanic not a psychiatrist, but all the research I have done over the past few years says the same; Narcissistic personality disorder.

The other issue I have is that my ex is a lawyer. So she is incredibly intelligent as well as knowing the law. I need a lawyer Who knows how to deal with this type of personality?
Old 02-05-2018, 10:39 PM

Kinso is an unknown quantity at this point

Interview three lawyers. Ideally:

- Who do family law exclusively, or >85% of their files;
- At least 5 years of experience; and
- Who you have a good gut feeling about

All lawyers have deal with more than their share of people with cluster B personality disorders. It comes with the territory.
Old 02-05-2018, 11:02 PM

standing on the sidelines is on a distinguished road

you have a signed separation agreement that should of dealt with the child custody and SS.

Your ex is a lawyer and you are an automotive tech so I figure she makes more then you do so why does she think she is entitled to support? Unless she isnt working as a lawyer?