This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exclusive Possession of Marital Home

Even though I own the marital home, my 2bx has refused request for order of exclusive possession of the marital home. His lawyer stated this in a letter to my former lawyer. Do I need his consent? He has been physically and mentally abusive.

Did you own it before you got married?The house would be added to the assets and no doubt subject to equalization.It doesn't matter to the courts what he did to you unless you are looking for a restraining order.Im no expert but you should be able to sell the house....and have the money held pending equalization.Are there marital debts in both your names?Does he hold assets in his sole name?Think you need to elaborate a little bit more and there should be someone here to help figure this out.

Comment

Murphy is correct

Comment

If you are married, paper ownership of the matrimonial home is less important than its designation as the matrimonial home.

He has indicated that he will not consent to being removed. Ask your lawyer to bring a motion for exclusive possession of the matrimonial home. If he has been abusive the police are an excellent resource for personal safety.

Edit: He can refuse to give consent and, without his consent, you will need an Order.
        Last edited by OrleansLawyer; 08-10-2012, 05:32 PM. Reason: edit for clarity

Comment

I have ownership of the house because that's what he wanted. In case his businesses failed, we wouldn't lose the house. We have debts but they could be easily paid. He has large sums of money in bank accounts solely in his name.

Orleanslawyer, sorry I didn't make myself clear...he did move out after a letter from my lawyer. I'm now residing in the home. He was afraid of getting involved again with the police because of the abuse I'm sure. He is a very well known business man here.