X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Separation Date Dispute

Hello,
    I am fairly new to separation/divorce proceedings and ask for your advice as to separation date issue. We both agree that we are separating and divorcing but I am not in agreement with what my husband considers separation date. He claims it is February 1, 2010. I think that since we lived together, shared one bank account, I cooked and cleaned, did his laundry, bought groceries for the house, income tax returned were prepared as "married" - separation date should be the date when we close sale of our house which will be June 22, 2012 (three months from now). I must admit that since Feb 2010 we slept in separate rooms and there was no sexual relationship since then. My husband told me two weeks ago that I should expect "something" in the mail from his lawyer regarding separation and divorce. He did not want to tell me details but he said that he claimed separation date as Feb. 2010. Can I simply not agree to this date? I do not have money to hire a lawyer so I have to do this alone. I have 20K debt on my credit cards which accumulated since spring 2011 - I admit I spend 3K for a trip to Cuba where I went with our two sons last summer but the rest of the money I spent was for everyday things, like groceries, furniture, clothing, school supplies for kids, computer equipment which all of us use in the house. My husband does not want to split this debt and I myself am not sure if I should fight to split it. Separation date is significant here (I think) because back in February 2010 I did not have any outstanding debt on my credit cards. Please post your comments as to whether I should fight to split the credit card debt and separation date. (Please note that we are still living in the same house and will do so until June 22, 2012). Thank you very much everyone. MK