CS and SS negotiating strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CS and SS negotiating strategy

I should put an offer on the table and unsure what to offer. I hope I can get some advice.

Facts:
    - Plan is for 50/50 custody split
    - I’ve been paying all bills (including DTBX cellphone) for last 6 years. We’ve been together 8 years since our oldest daughter was born - never married
    - She was working up till 2012 making $45k
    - She ran home daycare 2013-2017 making ~$20k
    - She now works under table for a private business (friend) making $15k tax-free.
    - 95% of this money has been her pocket money, contributed very little money or time to the family
    - I make $110k
    - 3 kids: 7,5,3
    - We have completed a plan for equalization - I know I’ve been more than generous and she says she agrees (though it’s not as much money as she “needs”)
    - Trying to agree on everything ourselves and only get lawyers review and mediator sign off after and so far it’s been very amicable.

Options:
    1) Offer full table value CS ($2k per month) but no SS (sign off SA that she waives any right to SS)
    - this best protects under-table paying friend from audit
    - I believe this doesn’t deter me from imputing income in future
    2) impute 30k (minimum wage) and set CS for that ($1700)
    - then add SS - I’m thinking 1-time $10k payout which I can borrow against mortgage refresh
    3) impute 20k (realistic current money she’s making)
    - then add SS - maybe 100 per month?

Do I use the threat of having her friend screwed by auditors?
    Complicating factor: she’s completely delusional and is shopping around for 400,000 houses to move to and wants this done as quick as possible so she can buy her house. She hasn’t talked to a mortgage broker - I’ve only warned her that she may not be able to afford everything she wants (#understatement)
    As well I think she’s got a friend telling her that she’s going to get a windfall