Access when one parent out of town

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Access when one parent out of town

I have no experience in family court yet but from what I am reading it depends on the mood of the judge of the day. I have a scenario and asking for feedback.

Parents divorced 8 years. Two children 11, 13 yrs old and 50/50 custody. Dad is very controlling and manipulative. Dad goes away on business trips for a month or two at a time maybe twice a year. Mom has looked after them. When dad is home he is not flexible with days and times unless he requires it and to his advantage. This business trip he has asked his gf family to look after his kids on "his" days. This is not a live in gf or common law. Mom is aware that the gf family is nice, has met them at church etc. and her kids like them. Mom is on board with them spending some time with the family but has told the ex she wishes to keep them on certain days to visit family as it is the holiday season. Ex is against this. Are judges so crazy they would allow a parent to find alternate care while he is out of the country just to deny mom access? This is clearly hate driven and extreme control. Isn't the purpose of shared custody is so each parent can see their children and parent them as best as they can half the time? What if the parent has gone away? Sending them to non relatives and denying a parent access seems ludicrous to me. I'm a do it now and ask for forgiveness later type of person. I told her to keep them. Just agree with him for now to keep the peace and the week she wants to go away then take them. What is he going to do or say when he is 20hrs flight away? She isn't kidnapping them because he isn't being denied access and is not physically present. Police will NOT intervene as no harm to children. He is the type to make an issue and go to a lawyer and fight her about it. Is this a case that a judge would even waste time with?