This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• taxable benefit and support

I have a job that provides me with a company vehicle.
    I put in my own gas for my personal use.
    There is a taxable benefit on my paystub every month for $300 ($3600 per year) and an "auto usage" deduction of $28 per month ($336 per year)
    In the year that the vehicle gets traded in, I also get dinged a taxable benefit too. Not 100% sure why, it just shows up.

Anyway, both of these items have been used in the calculation of a final Child Support order.
    I have been paying temporary Spousal Support by agreement for about 15 months.
    Trial is scheduled for Nov. 2010

Just got the ex's final Trial Management Affidavit's and she is asking to have my income imputed at a level of $20,000 more than I am currently claiming (actual income plus the benefits)
    The CRA is getting their pound of flesh for this benefit, now she thinks that she should too.
    Her contention is that the benefit is worth more to me than the $4,000 per year I currently claim.

I have been reviewing case law and all I can find seems to talk about people that are self employed or work for family business were their income levels are "suspiciously" low and they get a vehicle or other beneifts.
    This is not the case with me.

Any thoughts?

Do you get the company vehicle in lieu of wages? For example, I myself have a job with a company vehicle. However my Taxable Benefit is much higher, approx. double, and I do pay my own gas as well. I decided to take this instead of taking an allowance, which would have been approx 300.00 per month. I don't pay child support, nor no I receive any, however, I would bet that it is and should be IMO, included as income.
    Be careful with the rates used. There is a standby charge, which is just for having use of the vehicle 365 days a year, and a usage charge, where they charge per km's, which is for people who get their gas paid as well.