This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• separation

My ex and I have been separated for almost 3 years now, we have three boys (now 5,7,9), I have been to a lawyer that has not kepy in touch with me so I went to another lawyer and same thing he hasn' t got back to me either. I don't think we have a difficult case(maybe that's the problem) anyways my ex and I have agreed on mostly everything child support etc. The house is the only thing that isn't finalized he says that we , the boys and I can stay in the house his lawyer that he went to said he should get the equity owing on the house and the second lawyer I saw said that there is no equity owing on the house. We renewed our mortgage at the same time that we separated. My question is which lawyer is correct is there equity owing on the house ?? I'm very new to all this legal stuff and I'd like to get the divorce over with as cheap as possible. What could be keeping the lawyers from getting back to me?????????????

I would think you would need a professional appraisal completed on the house to determine its value before you could say whether or not there was equity available for division.

Comment

separation

We had our house appraised due to the renewal of our mortgage and there was only about $1000 difference from our mortgage and the appraisal. The appraisal amount is used at the time of sepatation right? They can't use the one I have from this year right? I have done alot of work on the house since he left and I really don't want to get screwed.

Comment