Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Financial Issues

Financial Issues This forum is for discussing any of the financial issues involved in your divorce.

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2006, 12:56 PM

Amber is on a distinguished road
Default Spousal Support

Usually, I have a problem with spousal support, except in cases where it is warranted. I have heard of women that just basically sit around and collect the support and that's it. they make no effort to get off their butts and make their life better for themselves. There are jobs out there and anyone with any incentive and motivation will be able to secure one. ( In my mind anyways) Here's the deal....At one point I worked in the banking industry probably for 15 years ( I would be retiring from that this year had I stayed with it) but left that to work with the Family Business. I also had a Nursing Degree. Let my license renewal lapse about 8 years ago ( wouldn't be needing that!!!!) So have worked in the FB for 26 years. My lawyer is advising me to stay with the FB until business matters are settled and payment in hand and spousal support arranged. I will possibly be relocating to an area where I am not known. I am 50 years young. My ex is saying that he will pay me my regular cheque from the FB which I no longer have an interest in past V date, while I look for another job. Then he will pay me the difference between the two to equal what I make now. We had been married 26 years. I contributed immensely to this business. I have told him I do not want support from him forever. I want to move forward but I do want the support until I have myself established. My kids are grown and on their own.