Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Divorce & Family Law

Divorce & Family Law This forum is for discussing any of the legal issues involved in your divorce.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2015, 07:02 PM

frustratedmommy is on a distinguished road
Default Personal Loans and Matrimonial House

Hi everyone I am new to all the legalities and have yet to choose a lawyer so I have a few questions

My ex and I both brought houses into our marriage. We lived in his house when we got married then moved into my house after we got married and lived there until we separated. After we Got married his house became a rental property. I never recieved any income from the rental.

When we moved back into my house we borrowed a large sum of money from my parents for renovations to the house. I have personally been paying these back monthly. When we separated my ex and I agreed verbally to just keep our own houses and remaining debts. Now he has hired a lawyer and decided he wants me to pay for the time (renovation labour) he put into the house
He says because the loan was from my parents he is not responsible for paying it.
If the outstanding loan and mortgage value is more than he assement value of the matrimonial home I won't be responsible for paying him anything will I? If his house that he now lives in and is no longer a rental property has equity would he not end up paying me?

I don't know how it all works and the personal loan and additional house make it more complicated. Any information is greatly appreciated.
Old 11-11-2015, 07:31 PM

arabian will become famous soon enough

Welcome to the forum.

What a shame that the two of you couldn't just work together in coming to an agreement and then take it to respective lawyers with your instructions.