Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Divorce & Family Law

Divorce & Family Law This forum is for discussing any of the legal issues involved in your divorce.

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2006, 03:15 AM

OklahomaGal is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Is my USA divorce legal in ON??

I'm a US citizen engaged to a Canadian. My fiance lives in Ottawa and we'd planned to get married there in March/April.

I am previously divorced though and must obtain authorization from the minister of Government Services before we can be issued a marriage licence.

Here is the information surrounding my divorce.

-Aug 1993 my family moved to Farmington, New Mexico USA, San Juan County.

-1994 I graduated high school and started at a local college... I met my Ex there.

-We were married December 1995 and he entered into the US Military and left for bootcamp in Jan or Feb of 1996 and I did not see him again until he returned May of 96.

-May or June of 96 we were stationed at Ft Riley Kansas and lived in Manhattan Kansas... both in Riley County.

-Because of his abusive nature and threats to end my life, we seperated and I moved back home in October of 97.

-So October of 97 I moved in with my parents in Farmington New Mexico, San Juan County.. where we were originally married. I did not file for divorce right away and he visited a few times.

-Sometime between October of 97 and June of 98 my parents and I changed residence to Aztec New Mexico... Still in San Juan County though.

-Divorce was finalized June of 98 by San Juan County district court.

-I remained a resident of New Mexico another 6 years after the divorce.