Ottawa Divorce .com Forums

User CP

Advertising

Ottawa Divorce .com Forums > Main Category > Divorce & Family Law

Divorce & Family Law This forum is for discussing any of the legal issues involved in your divorce.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2015, 12:07 PM

MoEcho is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to MoEcho
Question Changing a signed seperation agreement?

Hello all! Could use some advice. Sorry if this has been asked recently, I am not very good at using the 'search' tool.

I have a signed separation agreement affective last Nov. In this agreement, my ex agrees to allow me to pay off ~5k loan sporadically, when I can, and no set monthly payments were arranged. I am paying the max child support, no spousal and other bills etc. I am paying what I can each pay towards this loan, so far so good.

I have no problem paying. I am paying.. it seems I am NOT paying fast enough and she wants the remainder of the ~5k paid faster than I am able to. --Like lump sum asap which would cause me to have to get my own loan #fail

She is threatening to hire a lawyer and 'settle up' before serving me with (what I thought would be very simple) divorce papers (no lawyers needed as per my lawyer lol)

Question: Does she have rights to just up and change her mind and 'demand' that I pay up? I don't think so, but I wanted to check with the resident experts in this stuff.

Thanks to all for any tips. I will consult my lawyer also on this one question if I have to, but I'm hoping to just stick to the agreement and see if she decides to try legal action. (Oh, the agreement also says mediation before lawyers, but apparently this may have been overlooked by her)
Old 08-07-2015, 12:35 PM

stripes is on a distinguished road